PDA

View Full Version : What age did you start this career?

graezybee
10-05-2010, 07:38 PM
Hello all,

So I have sort of put a refrigeration engineer as my primary career choice. Thing is, I am 20. Is this too old to start?

And also, is the time to complete apprenticeships 4 years?

Once again, thanks for reading,and the advice I have got from this site has been great.

Gary
10-05-2010, 07:52 PM
I was 22 when I started in the trade... was an auto mechanic before that... and a jumper on a milk truck before that... with a tour in Vietnam somewhere in the middle.

I suppose apprenticeship requirements would be different for different areas. When I graduated university I was too old for the union apprenticeship program, so I moved to a rural area where such things were not required and became a contractor (and learned everything the hard way). Some years later I joined that same union as a journeyman. I suspect it could not be done that way these days, as that rural area now requires apprenticeships.

Tycho
10-05-2010, 09:31 PM
was 18 when I started, I know a few guys who were in their mid 20's when they saw the light

james10
10-05-2010, 09:52 PM
I was 22 when i got drafted in to the dark side "THEY" told me it was fast cars and supermodels. I now drive a skoda and you really dont want to see the wife:o:D

Silhouette
11-05-2010, 03:59 PM
I started at 16 when I left school! At 20 you will probably appreciate the college courses much more than the average school leaver, who tends to treat day release as a day off work!! Nowadays you very rarely get an apprenticeship, you tend to get set on as a trainee then as soon as you have your papers from college your given a van and told to earn the company some money!

monkey spanners
11-05-2010, 09:18 PM
I started doing maintenances with my dad when i was still in primary school, probably around 8 years old on weekends and school holidays.

Started payed employement at 18 :D

djbe
11-05-2010, 10:57 PM