PDA

View Full Version : Car aircon and Fgas

jasperreefers
03-05-2010, 04:14 PM
Do the fgas regulations apply for leak/pressure testing for cars?

My father, who is 84 is being fed a lot of bull by a garage some examples are, "all pipes leak" "all car aircon uses up refrigerant" " we Pressure tested it with r134a to 6bar".

I want to start a firefight with this Garage on Fathers behalf, but car Aircon is not my thing and I first want to make sure of my facts . I am an fgas registered engineer (Sept 2009) and as
far as I am aware the Temperature for calculating test pressures applies for cars as well is that correct? are there any exceptions to the regulations pertaining to Cars?

i would really appreciate any advice from any car aircon
guys out there

thanks
geoff

martinw58
03-05-2010, 06:53 PM
if you look on the acrib.org .uk site on the f gas section there is a section on car air con

monkey spanners
03-05-2010, 07:00 PM
I'm sure they are covered as i read something in a free magazine i picked up at the car parts shop about them having to go on courses too.

jasperreefers
03-05-2010, 08:11 PM
Hi thanks for that link its very detailed and answers a lot of my questions

Cheers

Geoff

sedgy
03-05-2010, 09:44 PM
tell him its time for him to retire, and hand over the garage to you

jasperreefers
04-05-2010, 06:40 PM
Thanks everyone you have been a great help....father will only retire when we nail him in his box he was a racing engineer in the 50's and 60's and they only fade away

Quality
04-05-2010, 07:39 PM
Google EC 307/2008

hyperion
05-05-2010, 08:03 AM
One of the early comments about pipework leaking i true in certain applications, dependant partly on the age of the vehicle, the make, the layout of the pipework, undue stresses on the pipes etc.