PDA

View Full Version : marine engineer

cees hendriksen
06-04-2010, 07:00 PM
Hi, I am an engineer on a ship and underway, last year at the Singapore drydokking they installed 3 REFCOMP TYPE 553 SR hermetic compressors. now 6000 rhr later we have problems with 2 compressors, as soon as they are started they go to 100 % load at 250Amps but do not want to unload as the load drops also activating the solenoids with 220 Volt will not get the compressor of the 100%. drained the oil, renewed internal oilfilter, cleand external cap tubing, removed the solenoids and bench tested them, all seems to be ok. any help to solve this problem is appriciated, thanks for your input.

sedgy
06-04-2010, 07:39 PM
hi cees, so you are saying that the solenoids energise to load the comp.
so they are not liquid line valves then ? can you confirm this please

GHAZ
06-04-2010, 10:46 PM
hi it could be the slide valve rod broken or the spring broken, and not bringing the slide valve back , you,ll have to take the compressor apart, take off the oil seperater and then the screw pack back plate ,and have a look, be careful the back plate is under pressure from the spring plates, so undo the bolts carefully

cees hendriksen
07-04-2010, 06:11 AM
hi cees, so you are saying that the solenoids energise to load the comp.
so they are not liquid line valves then ? can you confirm this please
Hi sedgy, thanks for your replay, the solenoids on this type compressor are in the lube oil system and are NC. They direct oil to a piston that moves a sliding valve over the screws and once closed the effective work area of the screws is 100% and the compressor is on max load. if one of the solenoid vlvs is activated it will bypass the oil to the sump, the piston retracts one step and moves the sliding valve back and the load of the compressorwill go to 75% etc. etc. untill fully unloaded. The compressor is a Refcomp SRC-S-553

cees hendriksen
07-04-2010, 08:25 AM