PDA

View Full Version : Anyone help this lady ??

WebRam
20-06-2001, 10:56 PM
email recieved from this lady

Dear Sir,
I was sold a five ten, 10 SEER heat Pump Frigidaire for my 2,000 square foot
home.
It does not move air The Plentem are 14", 12", 12", and 8" there are no
baffles to direct air. The feed on the supply is 12" and return house is 20"
The blower motor is 1/2 horsepower, fan motor 1/4 horse power, compressor LRA
1750. The voltage Hertz is 60. the model is Q3RA-O6OK, series Q3R0050087.
The ducts are wrapped and intack. Can you give me any idea what is wrong.
Obviously I am not an engineer, but I really need help.
Sue Daniel

Brian_UK
21-06-2001, 08:26 PM
Whilst not familiar with this make or model of equipment it sounds like the lady should approach the person who sold it to her or the people who installed it.

If it is not moving air then indications are that there is a lack of power to the motors or that the controls are incorrectly connected.

subzero*psia
24-06-2001, 12:05 AM
Interesting... is the blower wheel and motor correct... no obstructions in the return line(s)?

Possibility that the air is moving only so softly that you don't really notice it. With large ducts the volume is there but the velocity is very low so you may not "sense" the air movement. That begs another question... does the room seem to be warm up above and cool lower to the floor?

One more question... was there any wrapping, paper or plastic inside the air handler that may not have been removed??? You will probably have to check with the installer on those things. Don't give him a hard time... he probably had a busy day and had to work in an attic that was all of 140 degrees to install some of your components. :cool:

One more thing... this is a heat pump... is your control (thermostat) setting in the proper position COOLING or AUTO? Does the outdoor system come on when you set your thermostat to a LOW setting of say 60 degrees Fahrenhiet?

Andy
24-06-2001, 11:30 AM