PDA

View Full Version : What was I doing wrong

lees8110
05-03-2010, 11:15 AM
Hi all,

I am still very new to the trade and still have alot to learn.

I am just after a bit of advice.

I replaced a compressor the other day on a heat pump unit, the system is on R22 and requires a charge of 5.44kg.

I decided to way the charge in as its a package unit, I trickle charged it into the suction as a liquid not exceeding 2.5 bar.

I noticed the compressor was getting very hot although the the suction was nicely frosted. As though it wasnt getting enough cooling from the charge in. and then it went out on thermal.

Now fully charged the system seems to be running fine and am getting all the corrrect temps/pressures.

Could this of been down to the change over valve in the wrong position. Ie not in cooling mode???

Thanks in advance for any advice given.

desA
05-03-2010, 11:22 AM
I trickle charged it into the suction as a liquid not exceeding 2.5 bar.

I noticed the compressor was getting very hot although the the suction was nicely frosted. As though it wasnt getting enough cooling from the charge in. and then it went out on thermal.

I feel a little sorry for the poor compressor.

Why did you not vapour charge into the suction line of an operating system?

lees8110
05-03-2010, 11:35 AM
I have just been used to doing it this way from charging zeotropes.

Charging at such a low pressure will cause it to boil off into the manifold/sytem before it reaches the compressor would it not?

desA
05-03-2010, 11:52 AM
Point taken. Would it not have been better to charge into the liquid line - as liquid - with the system offline?

There are adapters which can be used to ensure that the liquid has really & truly vapourised, if you are going to charge that way.

lees8110
05-03-2010, 12:11 PM
O right I havent heard of these, what are these called?