PDA

View Full Version : Ive been asked to design/install AC system....where do i start!?!?

halfcan
24-01-2010, 10:09 PM
Hey everyone

Ive been doing Air Conditioning install for roughly 3 years now and have just come out of my apprenticeship (well....finishing off my 3rd and final year at college), and the majority of work through my company is generally air conditioning installation (VRV's/single splits etc, the basics really). All the work I've done has purely been installing the equipment, and all the design side such as choosing the correct units and materials has always been out of my hands, and done in the office (which has nothing to do with me). I've recently been approached by a friend who runs a gym and asked me if I could sort out some air conditioning for them. I genuinely really want to do it, but have no idea where to start from. Is it a case of calculating all the heat loads of the room, and finding a system which will provide the correct cooling capacity? Any form of advice would be absolutely great!

Brian_UK
24-01-2010, 10:16 PM
Why not ask your company to provide the service or is your friend hoping for a cheap install?

But, in answer to your questions, yes, calculation and equipment matching.

eggs
24-01-2010, 10:43 PM
Your best bet is to go to the wholesaler you are most familiar with and who recognise you.
Kooltech, Thermofrost, Cool Designs, even Daikin will be more that happy to do a survey and heat calc for you as long as there is a good chance you will win the job.

Eggs

dougheret0
05-02-2010, 08:18 PM