PDA

View Full Version : Reversing valve leakage

Beck's Machine
22-01-2010, 07:37 PM
Hi Folks, a newbie here displaying some of his ignorance! :)

Does anyone have any experience or thoughts on using a reversing valve in a pump down system?

I am experimenting with modifying some Carrier water source heat pumps to work with the cooler water supplied by my ground loops and am debating whether to try and retain the cooling function.

Playing with the reversing valve after removal, it seems to be much too leaky to separate the high/low side pressures for very long. Is this the pilot pressure tap bypassing? Or just an old valve? Or am I asking the wrong questions? ;)

All thoughts appreciated, Dave

sedgy
22-01-2010, 08:12 PM
hi david , I am not sure of your motives, why think you can pump down using a reversing valve? if you want to pump down the best way is a solanoid valve, on the liquid line, all the best -

Beck's Machine
23-01-2010, 02:32 AM
hi david , I am not sure of your motives, why think you can pump down using a reversing valve? if you want to pump down the best way is a solanoid valve, on the liquid line, all the best -

Hi Sedgy,thanks for the response. I think I understand about using a solenoid valve in the liquid line as part of a pump down system. When the solenoid valve closes, isn't the reversing valve across both the low and high sides? Thus if it leaks, it would cause more or less cycling of the compressor to maintain the pump down condition? Thanks, Dave

sedgy
23-01-2010, 11:26 AM