PDA

View Full Version : Plate heat exchanger temperatures?

Drew
15-01-2010, 08:15 AM
I have started doing work for a trout hatchery that cools the water with a plate heat exchanger and glycol. The chiller , that cools the glycol is only running at 58% capacity with glycol on temp at 7 C and off at 4 C. The water incoming temp is 18 C and off at 12 C. The hatchery water temp is slowly climbing and I need to sort it out. Would the above temps indicate a fouled heat exchanger which would be holding the chiller down to 58%. The glycol setpoint is 5.5 C.
Any advice would be appreciated.

gregd1401
15-01-2010, 08:20 AM
Hi Drew. Do you control off entering or leaving glycol temperature and what does your plant consist of?

Drew
15-01-2010, 09:13 AM
The unit is a bitzer screw chiller pack, running on 134a. I think it is a Climiventa (spelling?) A company from norway came to fit it.

The chiller cools the glycol which cools the water via the plate heat exchanger.

Im new to the plant so am still trying to find the thermostat bulb position, but seeing the temps of the glycol in and out and the current setpoint I assume the bulb must be in the chillers heat exchanger?

gregd1401
15-01-2010, 10:39 AM
I suspect that seeing the unit is running glycol, it is designed to run lower temperature than 5.5C. Check your glycol density and lower the control set point. This will give better temperature difference and load the chiller above 58%.

Drew
15-01-2010, 10:51 AM
If we set the setpoint lower the unit turns off on freeze stat. Im trying to get hold of the supppliers of the chiller to obtain the passwords on the controller to change some parameters so that i can lower the setpoint. I am concerned that this will help a bit, but is not the actual fault. With the low temperature difference between the glycol in and out would that not indicate that the heat exchanger is not effecient? Therefore fouled? And not loading up the three screws?

chemi-cool
15-01-2010, 02:24 PM