PDA

View Full Version : Changing Compressor Low ambient

lees8110
14-01-2010, 09:12 PM
Hi All,

I am half way through replacing the compressor on a Lennox AHU Package unit. The unit has been off line for sometime now, I am just wondering how low ambient temperatures will affect the system as I am still fairly new to the trade.

I have vac'd and refilled with ofn several times now to try and rid of any ice/moisture/particles ect

Would it be good practise to leave the crankcase heater on for sometime before starting it up for the first time?

I have no sightglass on the system so will have to weigh the charge in what sort of effect will the low ambient temp have on this?

Sorry for all the questions, im still learning!

DEVIL
14-01-2010, 09:22 PM
It depends on how low is inside the unit,and if you had any other problems beside the compressor change.

Typically it is recommended to add some electrical heaters (temporary heat blowers) to heat the entire system, it's not enought only for the crankcase heater (depending on the actual ambient temp), and vac the system at the same time.
if the pipe temperature is too low, you might vac forever and it not extract all of the moisture (depending on the repair that was done).

And obligatory replace the filter dryer in case the unit is having one.
And putting this all beside for the start u need the crankcase heater on for 6-8 hours (i do it for more than 12 hours) for the oil to be heated up.

And for the weight, the refrigerant is having the same weight for any temperature/pressure for the same amount.

wen you are charging the unit, make shore the liquid is not depositing in the compressor

TRASH101
14-01-2010, 09:27 PM
Would it be good practise to leave the crankcase heater on for sometime before starting it up for the first time?