PDA

View Full Version : Pump down old AC to Reinstall somewhere else

aussie-install
09-01-2010, 06:10 AM
Hi, i've been installing new AC/Heat Pumps for a few years now and very rarely get asked to remove and reinstall. I now have that job again.

Can someone just remind me how to go about it? I want to pump all refrigerant to the outdoor unit.

Its a Sanyo Unit

Thanks

mad fridgie
09-01-2010, 07:32 AM
Hi pretty easy fit suction gauge on service valve (large valve) Turn unit onto cooling mode (make sure is running), close small service valve. You will see the suction pressure drop as it is getting vary close top 0 on gauge quickly close the big one, then turn off.

aussie-install
09-01-2010, 09:59 AM
thanks so much, i will give it a go next week.

aussie-install
09-01-2010, 08:29 PM
Thanks, if i don't have any R22 Guages can you do it without them. I have R410 guages but don't require R22 much so i haven't purchased any. Last time i borrowed some of a work mate.

Thanks

mad fridgie
09-01-2010, 08:40 PM
Thanks, if i don't have any R22 Guages can you do it without them. I have R410 guages but don't require R22 much so i haven't purchased any. Last time i borrowed some of a work mate.

Thanks
You may require an adaptor for your gauge lines, for this purpose you are only looking for pressure "0"gauge so gauge type does not matter.
make sure when you re-use on R410a, to give alittle purge with R410a.

nike123
09-01-2010, 10:24 PM

Thanks

You don't need gauges at all in most cases of relocation.
Just turn ON unit on cooling mode and wait until compressor starts. It is good practice to run it in cooling mode at max set temperature (or in test mode) for some time (15 min or more) to collect oil from pipes. Close smaller valve and than after 30-60 seconds close bigger valve. Turn OFF unit and check with screwdriver, that, when you press valve needle, connection port has no pressure. Cap it, and that is all.

paul_h
19-01-2010, 03:54 PM

Thanks