PDA

View Full Version : Ammonia Refrigeration License

jaysephus
01-01-2010, 05:55 PM
personal stuff sorry

Toosh
01-01-2010, 08:07 PM
I've been working with refrigeration for 7 years now. When I started my industrial refrigeration job I had 3 years of college focusing on industrial maintenance and operation. I graduated with a refrigeration license and boilers license so when I walked onto my plant for the first day I was capable to operate an ammonia refrigeration system. Then I found out that here in the US you do not need any kind of license to operate and ammonia system. The other guys I work with were hired off the street with no refrigeration experience of any kind, at all! When you look around in the industry that is not an only tale, it's the normal it seems. You have to have a license to cut hair but not work with ammonia!!! There is an OSHA requirement about training every 3 years and such but my point is there is no basic test, nothing to prove you are competent to even stand in an engine room. One of the guys I work with couldn't refrigerate his way out of a paper bag ( I don't really know if that makes sense but it sounded funny) and he has been working here the longest! He once isolated a 4" liquid line filled with ammonia between a check valve and isolation valve I just so happened to see him do this and questioned him about why this is wrong and he got upset and walked away! When I opened the valve I heard the loudest rush of pressure relieving I've ever heard. I mean, isn't that like rule #1 in ammonia!!! :rolleyes: Is this only in the US or is this worldwide?

Hi Jaysephus, I Know in Canada you need an operators license to work with ammonia

Regards Norm

Grizzly
01-01-2010, 09:57 PM
Hi jaysephus
Here in the U.K. there is no legal requirement for anyone to be "Ticketed" to work with AMMONIA.
In fact I can think of several site engineers that I work alongside nowadays.
That have only recently become "ticketed"