PDA

View Full Version : Dramatize R effect of pressure alone

zitaray
26-12-2004, 11:06 PM
I am a teacher, not an engineer, trying to dramatize for nineth-graders that, even without evaporation, variations of pressure alone can change R effect. We are building a device with H2O in a chamber inside a sealed jacket to be filled with a refrigerant connected to a reservoir under controllable air pressure. We want to effect freezing of the H2O by reducing the pressure on the refrigerant, then remelt the ice by increasing the pressure on the refrigerant. High efficiency would be great, but clarity of principle is our key interest. What amateur-safe refrigerant should we use to keep the pressure within the range of a small air compressor and vacuum pump (preferably between zero psia to 100 psia, but other minimums and maximums are no problem)? We are all excited at making this work. Any other suggestions?

Gary
27-12-2004, 01:50 AM
What makes you think you can drop the pressure of the refrigerant and freeze the water without evaporating some of the refrigerant?

zitaray
27-12-2004, 03:33 AM
Dear Gary,
Thanks for your query. I don't mean there is no evaporation when I lower the pressure. I just mean low-pressure refrigerant is already absorbing heat even in its liquid state before evaporating. We don't need to have no evaporation in our device (though that would be neat). The main thing is that we can get cooling effect and a warming effect just by changing pressure between low and high pressures. This is just school stuff, but it is extremely enjoyable and I thank you for helping us if you can. Best regards.
zitaray

Gary
27-12-2004, 03:48 AM
When you drop the pressure, part of the refrigerant evaporates, absorbing heat in the process. It is the evaporation that causes the refrigeration effect.

Someone please correct me if I am wrong on this.

zitaray
27-12-2004, 04:38 AM