PDA

View Full Version : OFN information

andychill
13-12-2009, 12:16 AM
I'm relatively new to the AC world and could do with some advice from a couple of the more seasoned industry pro's, if at all possible.

My experience to date is mainly from working on smaller refrigerated appliances such as fridges, icemakers etc. About 6 months ago I dipped into the split AC market though, and have found it quite profitable despite the UK recession.

The problem I have is getting a working knowledge of safely and effectively using OFN for brazing.

The small systems I've installed have been fine so far, but I'm very concious that brazing without OFN could trip me up sometime in the future and I'd like to get that uncertaincy sorted out before next summer comes along.

Can anyone please point me in the right direction as to what OFN rig I need to buy, where to buy it from (BOC?) and roughly how to use it?

Oh, and before I get flamed, I am qualified to handle refrigerants and I do know what I'm doing, its just that my training wasnt exactly what could be considered 'formal' and there are one or two gaps in my base knowledge - OFN being one of them.

Any advice or pointers would be welcome:-)

ICE/RUNNER
13-12-2009, 02:34 AM
You will need a 2 stage nitrogen regulator 0 psi to 600 psi available from BOC and most refrigeration wholesalers, I would go to the fridge wholesaler as their ones also come with a secondary pressure gauge and shut off valve to allow the 2 -3 psi pressures to be set and a braided testing hose.