PDA

View Full Version : Basic Chilled Water System Weir Tank

johnhodgson
06-11-2009, 03:00 PM
Hi - I am a newbie to this forum and seek the help of much wiser members (that I think includes everybody). I run a maintenance department and our factory has a number of small internal process chillers of various sizes. I am installing a couple of external chillers of 50kW each with the intention of getting rid of the internal ones. I have been advised to use a buffer/weir tank and due to limited space have opted for a 1000 litre unit. My question is about the connections to the weir tank - basically where to take the water out and where to return it too. Also the best point for connection of the two chillers, flow and return. I could really do with a simple schematic also showing the weir and principal of operation including thermal flow. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Brian_UK
06-11-2009, 08:25 PM
Hi John and welcome to the forum.

There has been a previous discussion on this which might prove useful to you. There are a couple of layouts included.

http://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19429

johnhodgson
07-11-2009, 01:43 PM
Hi Brian - thanks for your response - I have visited the discussion you mention but the help I am after is probably a bit more fundamental. Basically I am trying to understand the thermal dynamics of the weir tank as I need to work out the best place to make connections from two chillers to the tank as well as the process flow-pump and return lines. Six connections in total. The tank supplier has asked where I want these connection points.
I have attached a doc file showing a basic schematic (I hope it makes sense).
Regards John

Brian_UK
07-11-2009, 05:59 PM
The purpose of the buffer tank is to provide sufficient water for the system to operate, the temperature within the tank will be basically the same on both sides of the weir.