PDA

View Full Version : Creating a 'Fridge alarm'

Jack6114
02-11-2009, 07:21 PM
Hey Guys, First off I would like to say that if this thread is in the wrong place, could you please move it to the correct section? :)

Anyway, I'm a student studying and for a 'quick' project I plan on creating a fridge alarm, and I would like some advice on some certain areas, Anyway, I've outlined my plans below.

I plan on creating a fridge alarm, which will indicate when the door is left open for roughly two minutes and thirty seconds, to do this I plan on using a LDR to detect the light and have two 1uf capacitors and 1M variable resistor to charge, the let off a buzzing sound, Basically, it is the circuit below; (please change the 'xx' to 'tt', as I can't post links yet)

hxxp://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e149/Jack6194/Other/LDRCIR.png

Could you see any problems, or how to get a better time delay?

Brian_UK
02-11-2009, 07:38 PM
Jack's circuit

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e149/Jack6194/Other/LDRCIR.png

The circuit is, I'm sure, operational and would work.

One potential problem is what happens if the fridge lamp fails?

Why not just sense, or take power, from the door switch?

Also it is possible to buy ready made delay timers.

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=retrieveTfg&binCount=747&Ne=4294957561&Ntt=delay+timer&Ntk=I18NAll&Nr=AND%28avl%3auk%2csearchDiscon_uk%3aN%29&Ntx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&N=4294954690&Nty=1

Sorry, forgot to say, welcome to the forum and enjoy your studies.

Jack6114
02-11-2009, 07:54 PM
Jack's circuit
<cut picture>

The circuit is, I'm sure, operational and would work.

One potential problem is what happens if the fridge lamp fails?

Why not just sense, or take power, from the door switch?

Also it is possible to buy ready made delay timers.

<cut URL>

Sorry, forgot to say, welcome to the forum and enjoy your studies.

Thanks Brian :)