PDA

View Full Version : Can a 4ton HVAC compressor pump down?

JSPPE
02-10-2009, 03:43 AM
I am an HVAC design engineer, not a certified service tech. Don't worry, they don't let me use the wrenches and gages.

I have a contractor recommending to use a small (4ton) heat pump system compressor to pump the refrigerant into the outdoor unit by closing the liquid line service valve and running the compressor. Don't know if he proposes to bypass the low pressure switch or not. There is no receiver to store refrigerant, only condenser coil tubing.

I understand semi-hermetics are built to do this on a regular basis, and have receivers for storage, but what about the small residential scroll and recip. cans?

Aren't they refrigerant cooled motors?

I would prefer to reclaim thru a filter/drier and either replace or re-use thru another filter/drier instead of stressing the system compressor.

If this was only one system, maybe no big deal, but there are several hundred to do.

mad fridgie
02-10-2009, 05:32 AM
If it was a pre-charged unit from new, the I do not see a problem. "the charge you are pumping down" if extra refrigerant has been added then yes can be an issue.
The motor cooling is not an issue for a few seconds.
Some scrolls have an internal pressure relief, which may stop complet pump down (very specific to the system)
If he is using gauges on high and low side, then he should know.
If you want to become a better design engineer, my advice is to go and work with a tech for a while. Learn to swing that hammer!

nike123
02-10-2009, 01:24 PM
Is that your product or someone else?

If outdoor unit doesn't have receiver and you have scroll compressor, you should check in compressor technical data sheet what is allowable max charge for that compressor without accumulator/receiver, and then check nameplate if quantity in unit (plus additional charge for extended pipe length) is higher than that amount. If yes, you should recover refrigerant instead of pump down.