PDA

View Full Version : Low Superheat Eror

Meer Abdulrehma
14-08-2009, 07:38 AM
Hi! This is my first time

Have a situation where we have a Trane chilled water system it runs for about 2mins and the unit switches of eror displays Low Superheat. The superheat setting is 3.5 , Evap ref pressure is 1640 Kpa cond pressure 860. have tried checking the unloader does not energise, but when i set to test the compressor it energises. any advise.

goshen
14-08-2009, 07:46 AM
hi it sounds like either your sensor needs replacing or u have crossed wires unplugg the sensor and check the reading this should put u in the right direction

NoNickName
14-08-2009, 07:57 AM
And how much is the superheat actually?

Lowrider
14-08-2009, 04:51 PM
From the readings he gave, most likely negative!!

So indeed chech that the wires are hooked up correct. If they are, you can check them by measuring the resistance. @ 25 dgr C they should have a resistance of 10k Ohm. They are NTC's. If they are off, you will have to change the one in the suction pipe and the one after the EXV, they are a pair and matched!

NoNickName
14-08-2009, 06:32 PM
How do you know it's negative, without knowing the suction temperature?

frank
14-08-2009, 08:17 PM
And how do you know that you do not have a Low Superheat problem?

Is it a shell & tube evaporator? has it been cleaned recently? Is the water flow correct?

So many reasons for Low Superheat - it's too easy to blame the sensor.

ptsac
14-08-2009, 08:24 PM
can you confirm that the evap pressure is reading 1640kpa. If the sensor is reading that pressure then low superheat will always show. Check your pressure transducers as Lowrider says.

NoNickName
14-08-2009, 10:19 PM
Guys, superheat is calculated by subtracting the evaporating temperature from the suction temperature.