PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question - SH Pressure

keepmecool
12-08-2009, 07:15 AM
Hi, I am new in the field of refridgeration (domestic) and battling a bit with the fundamentals. So here is my first question to the forum: why does the pressure not rise in an evaporator after all the refidgerant has evaporated and becomes superheated? more heat applied to a gas causes a pressure rise for a set volume was my understanding?
Please explain in '101' language.
Thanks, Michael

keepmecool
12-08-2009, 09:58 AM
I am sorry for posting here, so I have reposted the thread in the 'New to RE' forum.
Sorry all.
Michael

US Iceman
12-08-2009, 01:24 PM
The 'New to RE' area is where you can introduce yourself when you join. Placing a question as you did is OK as you selected the proper forum and asked nicely.:)

When the refrigerant is superheated in the last few passes of a direct expansion evaporator you can assume the superheating process occurs at a constant pressure. You need to find a written description of a simple refrigeration cycle which is plotted on a pressure-enthalpy diagram (also called a Mollier diagram).

The pressure in the evaporator actually decreases a slight amount because of pressure loss due to the refrigerant flowing through the tubes.

Welcome to the forums.

keepmecool
12-08-2009, 06:20 PM
US Iceman
Thanks for the reply. I have the necessary theory at hand, but sometimes it does'nt provide the 'why'.
You say, there is an insignificant pressure vs. temperature effect during the superheating. So my question is then, is this because the suction effect of the compressor determines what the pressure will be. I can assume it is constant, I just wanted to know why I am making that assumption. Probably it makes no difference , just curious!
Michael

US Iceman
12-08-2009, 07:48 PM