PDA

View Full Version : Ice Bank Tank Coil Design

kamilmohammed
05-08-2009, 09:31 AM
Hi all
I am new to RE and need your help.

For an ice bank tank, the refrigeration load is 23.68 kW at -2 Deg C evaporating temperature (and 40 Deg C condensing temperature):

1. Can someone tell me the ideal diameter and length of copper pipe coil to be used as the evaporator for the system? The compressor manual indicates suction line of size 1 1/8" (ie., 22 mm).

2. If the cold water flow rate required for the application is 3000 litres per hour, what is the ideal volume of the ice bank tank required?

3. It would also be helpful if someone can actually give the general formula for coil design based on refrigeration load, involving the diameter and length of copper pipe (or based on surface area).

Regards
Kamil Mohammed.

RANGER1
05-08-2009, 09:51 AM
For an ice bank you might want to have a lower evap temp than -2 deg C .
Maybe -15 deg C would be more productive .
You would also have to allow for ice build up while also having good water flow .
Pires would have to be well supported .
Unless you are really inquiring about chilled water ?

kamilmohammed
05-08-2009, 05:04 PM
Dear Ranger,
Thanks for your reply. As you have rightly said, I do mean chill water tank. That is why -2 evaporating temperature. In our place, we wrongly call it Ice Bank Tank and I have noticed it only now. Could you help further?

RANGER1
05-08-2009, 08:59 PM
I can't advise on tube sizes or lenths , but an easy way is to buy a evaporator coil block with wide as you can get fin spacing and put it in the water to be chilled .
Make sure there is good water circulation and maybe instal a second circulating pump to circulate in tank as well .
Or a spa air pump and pipe it up to a header in bottom of tank with lots of holes for air to stir everything up .
A stainless fin evaporator would be perfect .

Peter_1
06-08-2009, 07:10 AM
Hi all
I am new to RE and need your help.