PDA

View Full Version : chooseing a gas

Nick_Black
21-07-2009, 05:44 AM
hello I'm New to Refrigerants, I understand the principles and all that, but never actually worked on a unit. but me bieng me, I want to dive right off the deep end :P

to hopefully bypass a lot of neg. feedback I'll jump straight to my main question:

what are some good gases to use that are

a: easy to get a hold of
b: non toxic
c: non flammable
d: ozone friendly (if possible)

originally I was thinking propane because it's easy to get a hold of, but it's got a nasty habit of going boom.

temps I'm shooting for -10 to -40 approx, I'm really not picky, heck I'd be happy with a 0*(C)

and as a side question, how much does water affect the system? I know most/all systems have a dryer filter, but how much would it affect the system?

Thank you in advance.
Cheers! Nick_B :)

Brian_UK
21-07-2009, 07:13 PM
Water will kill a compressor. it will also freeze in any small orifice in the system.

How are you proposing to use this refrigerant?

US Iceman
21-07-2009, 09:01 PM
0-40°C is quite a range of possible operating conditions. What you seem to be asking is for a refrigerant that fits all things. Sort of a like a shoe that will fit anyone.

Water in refrigerants is a no-no.

What are you truing to do? You state you have no experience, but understand the principles... Fresh out of school, heh?

Fill us in on what you want to do and why. Then we can assist with more defined information.;)

Nick_Black
30-07-2009, 04:33 AM
sigh, I'm probably going 2 be made fun of for this, but oh well...

like I said, I'm going in from the deep end

I want to:

a: Build everything from the ground up ( includeing the compressor (which means, machine the pistons, crank, ect ect, and make it beable to run off a 12v computer power supply))

b: assemble everything

c: if I get successful, I want to hook it up to a water cooling rig for my computer