PDA

View Full Version : Relief piping iced up

NH3ISFORME
17-07-2009, 05:39 AM
I had heard that if a relief valve were to "relieve" the piping from the identified valve would ice up. I am relatively new to NH3 so maybe someone would mind breaking this down for me a little. On temp/pressure controlled vessels i could see how that is possible liquid flashing off during a release, but is that also true for a screw compressor barrel if the relief(s) gave on the discharge pressure side how would superheated vapor escaping through a relief cause the piping to ice up?

I swear I won't post this anywhere else...my bad.:confused:

HallsEngineer
17-07-2009, 07:44 AM
There is an expansion of gas as the valve exits the relief valve at high pressure. The energy for this expansion must come from some where so it takes it from the environment ie the pipe. Liquid is just more efficient at expanding because it uses latent and sensible energy to cool itself to the required temp thats why the fridge system works.
When you pressure test with nitro your reg sweats or even freezes and thats superheated about 120'c

glenn1340
17-07-2009, 05:54 PM
If you`re talking about the inside of the relief pipe freezing up (and possibly blocking) it wouldn`t happen as it would require moisture in the discharging refrigerant for it to do so.
It`s a big problem we get on air compressors: the expanding air on vavle exhausts freezing up and causing blockages. Most places fit now fridge or, for really dry air dessicant, dryers

zolimer
18-07-2009, 06:20 AM