PDA

View Full Version : Cooling Massive Heat Loads

danwill51
08-07-2009, 06:44 PM
Now that I have taken the time to get some education on how to use the Forums I will ask this question again and explain a little better.

I need to heat and cool about 3000 lbs of glass panels (solar) cycling them between 85'C and -40.

The cycle time with dwells is between min 3 hours and max of 6 hours.

I have looked up the specific heat of glass and it is .20 so I have a factor of 5lbs per degree F per BTU. Right?

If I wanted to do 180'F per hour ramp times I would need around 110,000 BTU-Hr's of cooling (excluding the box losses etc) I know I also will need a ton of airflow as well.

Do these numbers seem right?

Thanks in advance for any help
DW

frank
08-07-2009, 08:46 PM
Not one of my speciality areas, but, I would consider that you could use ambient forced cooling to start with and then refrigeration to finish with.

High glass temps of +85C would have a dramatic effect on any refrigeration system.

Would the glass suffer from thermal shock if cooled too quickly?

Peter_1
08-07-2009, 10:18 PM
Cooling down 1360 kg glass with a DT of 120 K over 3 hours gives me roughly 47 kW needed cooling power

Placing SI units between brackets is easier to read for some ;)

You also mixed between the units: is it it from 80°F to -40°F or is it in °C ? A big difference

Your compressor will be too small if you take your BTU's.
Don't forget you will have to choose a compressor given the needed power at an evaporating temperature some degrees lower than your lowest temperature.

Gary
08-07-2009, 10:31 PM
I would think the first question should be, how quickly can glass be cooled without shattering it?

Peter_1
09-07-2009, 07:52 AM
I think you need this for strength tests like they test PCB's going through several cooling heating cycles?
Or is it part of a real production method?

Peter_1
09-07-2009, 07:54 AM