PDA

View Full Version : 48yrs and still craving to learn

edilob
06-07-2009, 03:46 PM
Hi there,
I have a question, but first let me tell you this, im new to this forum so bare with me, Im self employed have been for the last 6yrs. previously i was a paramedic for 19yrs, I left to run my parents business as they retired and they wanted to keep the business within the family, Now my wife runs the business and im left twidiling my fingers. So i feel i need a new chalange, And therefore came up with the idea of training and hopefully working in the refrigeration field.
Ive read on the forum that realy to learn this trade the best way is to be tacken on by a employer who can teach you this skill with hands on training and a course, To gain city and guilds qualification.
So my question is there anybody out there, To give me a chance and teach me, or is there no hope for me in this trade. thanks for reading.

abet_meneses
06-07-2009, 03:56 PM
edilob,

Familiar phrase in this forum "You"ll never too old to learn".At 49,plenty of time to learn,and to explore the trade.Good luck.

edilob
06-07-2009, 04:18 PM
thankyou for that, thats much appreciated.

Gary
06-07-2009, 04:51 PM
You might want to start here:

http://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19701

edilob
06-07-2009, 08:28 PM
very very good nicely put i hope the rest is as easy to learn somehow i dont think so. thankyou for that, ive now purchased a book so its time for me to do some studying. i hope that someone now out there might be able to give me the oppertunity to train me. thankyou again.nick

paul_h
07-07-2009, 01:19 PM
Best of luck, but what is it you want to do?
Do you wanting to be carrying compressors, climbing ladders and crawling through ceilings? Sometimes carrying compressors up ladders and motors through ceilings!
Starting from the bottom is not an older gents game, most of us start there when we're young and want to be out of it before we're 40 y/o.