PDA

View Full Version : Foster Freezer compressor fault?

gareththornley
22-06-2009, 11:00 PM
I have a foster freezer which suddenly developed a fault- the warning on the control panel was "high temp warning"
I reset the fault and checked to make sure doors were shut propely then restarted the machine. Temp started to come down so I went to bed as it was midnight. In the morning I checked the machine on my way out. the high temp fault had re appeared so i left a note for the chef to ring the service company that we are currently using. They promptly turned up and declared that the compressor needs replacing.
The diagnosis took less than 2 minutes.
I am not a refrigeration engineer but have worked in the catering industry for 15 years and prior to that in a repair industry. So when things go faulty I am the first line of defence.
I have never known an engineer diagnose a refrigeration problem so quickly.
Any help or advise much appreciated
the freezer is about 5 years old and was working well until yesterday.

Gareth

fowlie
22-06-2009, 11:16 PM
why not get a second opinion from another service company if you think your being led up the garden path.

Andy W
23-06-2009, 07:14 AM
It doesnt take long to diaganose a faulty compressor, they are usually locked rotor (seized) normally because they have not been maintained and in a kitchen environment the condenser will possibly be coated in grease and oil. Take a second opinion by all means but you will probably have to pay a call out charge etc again.

gareththornley
23-06-2009, 01:17 PM
Thanks for the advise, we are quite remote so it is difficult to get companies to come out at short notice, we had a great engineer but unfortunately he sold out to Raines who charge us £180 +vat call out fee on top of work done so we changed to another small new firm. This is their first proper job for us so I am a little wary. They have previously (6 months ago) replaced the run cap on this freezer but only after their second visit.