PDA

View Full Version : Manual Vi setting for Howden WRVi255

desaipt2003
20-06-2009, 06:20 PM
We are going to replace a Howden MK5/WCV255 with Howden MK6/WRVi. New compressor is supplied by a package supplier saying that the WRVi is direct replacement of WCV. WRVi model consists of a manual Vi setting in the range of 2.2 to 5.0 turning a square headed knob located below shaft on drive side end cover. For 2.2 Vi, the knob has to be rotated clockwise and for 5.0 Vi, it has to be rotated anticlockwise. WCV model don't have such a knob.

My question is what should be the initial setting of Vi when making the test run? What will be final and permanent setting for continuous operation. I am new to this field and don't have much experience for Howden.:mad:

NH3LVR
20-06-2009, 07:07 PM
I know this should be in SI units, but I have to run off and just have a couple of minutes.
VI=Discharge Pressure (absolute) divided by absolute Suction Pressure. An example is 5lbs suction and 150lbs discharge. Add 14.7lbs to the suction for absolute suction pressure (19.7lbs) Add 14.7 to the discharge (164.7). Divide 164.4 by 19.7=8.3 ideal VI.
You will note that unless your head is quite low or your suction quite high, you may always be under compressing.
Most adjustable VI Compressors are used in two stage systems or medium or high temp applications.
Most screws top out about around 5.0 VI.

asif
26-06-2009, 06:18 AM
Please share Howden WRV204-11058 standard CI Oil injected screw compressor service manual

RANGER1
30-06-2009, 12:57 PM
If you can give us your suction discharge pressures will pass on corect Vi setting .
I would have thought package supplier should give you the info and manual as part of the deal .

desaipt2003
30-06-2009, 07:54 PM
Yes, I got the confirmation from package supplier and OEM of compressor to set it to 5.0

Josip
02-07-2009, 01:53 PM
Hi, desaipt2003 :)

please check attachment...

.... resolution is not the best, due to upload limit of 100kb, but ..;)