PDA

View Full Version : Cooling a pipe: external refrigerant flow

cornelius
18-06-2009, 12:20 AM
I have to cool a steel pipe to an average temperature of 0 C. It will be a dx system. Water is passing inside. Basically it is a chiller. However i want the refrigerant flow out of the pipe. Usually and always the opposite is used so i cant find information on it. How will i design it? I am new in refrigeration business but i am good at computational fluid dynamics. I just dont know where to start.

desA
18-06-2009, 06:11 AM
Try a few good heat-transfer books to assist you on the thermal design side - it's not overly difficult.

Be a little careful on the pipe size for the outer tube, due to the high pressures in refrigeration systems. This would seem to be one reason as to why the refrigerant is often (not always) contained in small diameter, inner tubes.

cornelius
18-06-2009, 11:19 AM
The water side works well. I performed tests with cold water and i got what i want. This is an evaporator unit. I know that suction takes place here. How can we see high pressures?

The pipe has a diameter of 70 mm and a thickness of 1.5 mm. The evaporator should have a capacity of 6 kw. I have a design in mind for the refrigerant flow. However gravity is another issue.

Peter_1
18-06-2009, 12:06 PM
The water side works well. I performed tests with cold water and i got what i want. This is an evaporator unit. I know that suction takes place here. How can we see high pressures?

The pipe has a diameter of 70 mm and a thickness of 1.5 mm. The evaporator should have a capacity of 6 kw. I have a design in mind for the refrigerant flow. However gravity is another issue.

Suction pressure: you're a EU citizen, so you must comply with EN378. Your test pressure is ways higher then your suction pressure.
Inlet of your refrigerant top or bottom? Very important for your oil return. Superheat control also in this pipe?

Why would you flow the water in the inner tube? What's the advantage?