PDA

View Full Version : Charging a homemade system

andersnielsen45
07-06-2009, 09:20 PM
I am building a sluchice machine for my dormitory kitchen. The plan is to use an old 160 W hermetic compressor from a R12 freezer. I’m interested in building a new evaporator that is better for the purpose of making sluchice. This of cause involves discharging the old system and recharging the new one. The problem is that I have no practical experience or access to special tools like vacuum pumps and so on. The plan is to recharge the system with R290 Propane, because I can get access to propane and it seems I will deal with similar pressures ass the originally R12 filling. I have the following questions:

Will I kill myself in the process, in some exploration?
Will I kill my friends because the compressor makes a spark later on?
How do I calculate the filling size?
Can I use ordinary camping gas?
How do I empty the system for air and R12 without a vacuum pump? (Is it may be possible just to dilute by blowing propane thru the system for a while?)
Where do I find a good expansion valve solution (not to expensive)

Hope you can help me, maybe even save the life of me and my friends. If you know a place where I can find guides or other relevant material please let me know

Brian_UK
07-06-2009, 11:16 PM
Will I kill myself in the process, in some exploration?

Anything is possible.

Will I kill my friends because the compressor makes a spark later on?There should not be an explosive mixture inside the system if done correctly.

How do I calculate the filling size?Do it by sub-cooling method or by superheat as you are using an expansion valve.

Can I use ordinary camping gas?No, the quality is not good enough.