PDA

View Full Version : low high-side pressure, help

mackking
06-06-2009, 04:02 AM
i am new to a/c but i am pretty knowledgable about it. i installed a brand new goodman 3ton heatpump split system, with matching down-draft air handler.
the lowest i can get the vent temp is between 59-62 degrease. the condensing unit came with a .073 orface, and the handler came with a .078.
i used the .073 first, but the temp was high, so i tried the .078 and it got better, but the pressures still wasnt right. 70psi on the low side and 155-165 on the high side. so i put in a .061 and the pressures to me were perfect, 70psi(low) and 240psi(high). i then tried a .082 and the pressures were off but the suction line was cold, but not cold enough. the suction line temp is 56 degrease and my vent temp is 57-59. so i know its not an air flow problem. and my hight side pressure is only 150psi. i also have little heat from the condenser and on the highside line. i have replace the suction line all the way, and checked the highside and found no restriction. me and my freind (wich has been doin this for years) are completely stumped. any ideas would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Magoo
06-06-2009, 04:18 AM
Initial thought is overfeeding evap., ie ., high suction / low discharge. the compressor current draw would be high. Basically banging its gumbs and going nowhere.
Do a system analysis as in heat in,heat out.
Could be airflow, could be expansion device. Think , system balance and start again.
magoo
ps .., talk SI and you will get better response from forum

Gary
06-06-2009, 05:26 AM
Pressures are primarily a result of the temperature and volume of the air flowing through the coils. Orifice size has very little to do with it.

Gary
06-06-2009, 06:25 AM
Pressures are meaningless if we don't know what refrigerant is in the system.

I'll take a wild guess and say R22?

mackking
06-06-2009, 08:56 PM
yes it is r22 sorry

Gary
06-06-2009, 08:57 PM