PDA

View Full Version : R600a as drop-in for R12 in car ac?

Knusti
04-06-2009, 07:50 AM
Hello,

first of all, I'd like to introduce myself. I am a student currently living in Australia and will go back to Europe later this week. At home, I do have an old Mercedes car with an ac that never worked. I'll overhaul the ac next winter to enjoy it in summer 2010. Here in Australia I learned that some people use mixtures of propane and isobutane in their AC as a replacement of R12. I know that there is no real chance to get these blends in Europe. But there is plenty of refrigartion quality R600a available. My question is: Can I use pure R600a instead of this blend? The AC is an expansion valve unit, just as an additional information if this matters.

Thanks,

Knusti

NoNickName
04-06-2009, 07:59 AM
You can, provided appropriate calibration in refrigerant charge and TXV settings are taken into account. Please also consider the opportunity to fill your car a/c with a flammable vapour, that can represent a flame enhancer in case of accident.

Knusti
04-06-2009, 08:14 AM
Hello,

I am well aware of the flammability and would like to thank you for mentioning it again!! This is very important

Less charge is OK. I have read about it somewhere and bookmarked the page on how to calculate the refigerant quantity.

What I do not understand is how to modify the TXV. This is a small Aluminum block, nothing to adjust there. What do I have to do with the TXV or what would happen if I don't do any modifications to the TXV?

Knusti

hyperion
04-06-2009, 09:30 AM
I was under the impression that fitting inflammable refrigerants into car A/C was banned from the safety aspect. A small leak from the evaporator and then you use the cigar lighter and things could get extremely noisy in the cabin.