PDA

View Full Version : To Calculate Heating Load of an air compressor

mistershark
18-05-2009, 11:38 AM
I need to calculate the heating load of an air compressor (powered with an electrical engine 500kWe for a flow rate of 83 sm3/min, 6bar pressure) for an application in compressed air for a pneumatic conveyor.

Anyone can help me?

thanks in advance

mistershark
18-05-2009, 03:15 PM
Hello GUYS
I really need your help. HELP ME, HELP ME:rolleyes:

Yuri B.
18-05-2009, 05:06 PM
Hello. I am an electrician, am sure somebody, more competent than me, will help you. Can you explain to me, what do you mean by "heating load" ? The engine, I guess, is 50 Kw - not 500.

Sandro Baptista
18-05-2009, 05:31 PM
I need to calculate the heating load of an air compressor (powered with an electrical engine 500kWe for a flow rate of 83 sm3/min, 6bar pressure) for an application in compressed air for a pneumatic conveyor.

Anyone can help me?

thanks in advance

Assuming that the compressor sucks air at atmospherica pressure 1 bar (a) at 293 K and the compressed air is cooled and delivery to the pneumatic conveyer at 300 K. For 83 m3/min for a pressure ratio of 6 (» 6 bar (g)) then I would say that compressor + air cooler will disspate about 450 kW of heating load. This value will also depend of the isentropic efficiency which depends of each compressor and is own conception.

I hope this would help.

Regards

Sandro Baptista
18-05-2009, 05:49 PM
I just want to add something that I remember

Because the electric motor (500 kW of mechanical power) doesn't have an electric efficiency of 100% so we have to count with some heat generated by it. So I would add about more 30 kW.

Yuri B.
18-05-2009, 07:40 PM
My God! How you handle such monsters!

Yuri B.
18-05-2009, 07:42 PM
Surely, elephant's size.

mistershark
19-05-2009, 09:54 AM
Thanks to all for the answers, at this i would to explain my problem but i'm busy with another one!
as soon as I can I will post my considerations