PDA

View Full Version : Lennox unit tripping on LP please Help!

lees8110
14-05-2009, 08:59 PM
Hi all,

Please bare with me as im still new to refrigeration and this site.

The previous engineer to have worked on the unit suspected the unit was undercharged and quoted to reclaim, pressure test and re charge the system.

So I have repaired the leak and re-charged to the factory required 7.71 Kg of new R407c.

When the unit runs in cool my head pressure cycles from 10 bar to 18 bar as the condense fan comes in and out and my suction pressure starts at 4bar and slowly creeps down to 2 bar when the LP switch drops out the compressor,

On heating (Heat pump) My suction pressure stays around 3 bar and the discharge starts around 10 bar and climbs up to 25 bar (with the condense fan running) when it then goes out on HP.

Does it seem the system is undercharged??? I am scratching my head with this one

Thanks in advance for any advice given, and great website too learninig alot!:)

Thanks again Lee.

Gary
14-05-2009, 09:22 PM
Sounds like insufficient indoor air flow to me.

airefresco
14-05-2009, 09:55 PM
Yep, first thing that came to my head was dirty filters or dead fan motor.

Gary
14-05-2009, 10:02 PM
When the unit runs in cool my head pressure cycles from 10 bar to 18 bar as the condense fan comes in and out...

As you have rightly observed, airflow through the condenser has a major effect upon high side pressure. The same is true of airflow through the evaporator and its effect upon low side pressure.

In point of fact, the temperature and volume of air flowing through both coils has far more influence upon pressures than refrigerant charge does. Whenever pressures are not what you think they should be, the number one suspect is airflow, not refrigerant charge.

Do yourself a favor: Every day on every job, always check for airflow problems before you even think about putting your gauges on the system.

bebad
14-05-2009, 10:23 PM
true true, Gary.

wingman