PDA

View Full Version : Smelly oil!

aircon50
12-05-2009, 04:17 PM
Hi all. First of all, I am fairly new to RE.
Looking for some assistance, please. I was called to service a 3.5KW air con system on R407C. System runs fine with no problems - but - when I removed my gauges, the bit of oil that always seems to escape from the gauge line was absolutely stinking! Clearly the oil is contaminated, and the question is - What is the most cost effective way to clean the system.
There seems to be a difference of opinion regarding the use of chemical flushing agents. Yes, they clean, but are difficult to remove residue. Or, should I remove compressor, drain oil and replace and then blow system through with OFN and put a drier in system.
Any assistance appreciated - there is a wealth of experience out there, but not too many to ask here in the Canary Islands. Thanks. Graham :confused:

Yuri B.
12-05-2009, 07:17 PM
Perception of smell differ - what your (or my) nose feels as stinking might be scented as normal to a profi refmechanic. Leaving aside the qwestion of what made you to open the system which "run fine", I must say that I have never seen our mechanics cleaning AC pipes - even in case the compressor burnt and pipes' inside is sticky and stinky indeed(might have missed an instance - but sure, it's not their rule). I'm interested too.

Toosh
12-05-2009, 11:18 PM
Hi all. First of all, I am fairly new to RE.
Looking for some assistance, please. I was called to service a 3.5KW air con system on R407C. System runs fine with no problems - but - when I removed my gauges, the bit of oil that always seems to escape from the gauge line was absolutely stinking! Clearly the oil is contaminated, and the question is - What is the most cost effective way to clean the system.