PDA

View Full Version : Mini split right installation technique

Acrisoft
12-05-2009, 01:12 AM
Most service manual states to apply vacuum
before adding fluid to the system

In some filmes I saw in youtube, the guy install it in a simple way just by purging the air with the refrigerant itself. (no vacuum needed)

Could anybody clarify it ?
Which is the right way ?

Thanks

Moises

back2space
12-05-2009, 02:53 AM
Absolutely not, it is illegal to release refrigerant into the air.

Im sure the pros will be along soon to advise accordingly.

chemi-cool
12-05-2009, 03:17 PM
Its new to me that You Tube is the new Bible for refrigeration,

Purging is not enough and not legal,VACUUM

Acrisoft
14-05-2009, 02:23 PM
Yes

Guys are speading lots of videos in youtube teaching
how to install split without vacuum and this seemed wrong for me.

I am a teacher in mechatronics not refrigeration professional, so my mission is search and spot wrong and rigth techniques to my students in several areas of electronics and mechanics

Moises

mistubishi-eng
14-05-2009, 02:54 PM
1. Pressure Test System Pipe work
2. Evacuate System
3. Add/release refrigerant as required.
4. Commission System

Brian_UK
14-05-2009, 10:43 PM
1. Pressure Test System Pipe work
2. Evacuate System
3. Add/release refrigerant as required. :eek::eek:
4. Commission System

Incorrect, refrigerant MUST NOT BE RELEASED. :eek::mad:

SkyWalker
16-05-2009, 10:48 AM
acrisoft,

what must be realized is by vacuuming the system, yes we are "removing air" but we are also decreasing the pressure to boil off any moisture that has found it way into the sytem while the install took place, for instance at 10 Torr water will boil at approx 10'C ambiant temp.

nike123
16-05-2009, 11:57 AM
acrisoft,