PDA

View Full Version : Make Up Air Systems Using DX

RodButler
27-04-2009, 11:02 PM
I feel a little stupid asking this question. I have been designing HVAC systems for over 25 years and I have never really dealt with this situation before.

I have to provide make-up air for a facility in Texas. The ambient air is 102 db/75wb and I need to cool it down to 55 db. (saturated of course)

Can I do this safely with an off the shelf split system using 134a or similar? I know it has to do with the charging of the system but I have always thought that taking a temperature drop that large would result in high head pressure problems and the like.

Can any of you tech types help please?

dougheret0
29-04-2009, 07:41 PM
I'm really surprised and disappointed that no one has answered this question. I've been practicing for 30 years, and would never try to do 100% outdoor air with a stock split or packaged system. But to be honest, I'm not sure why.

First, consider that a stock system cannot be run at an air flow lower than 300 cfm/ton. At that air flow, with 102/75 evaporator entering conditions, the SHR of a typical packaged unit is .53, so the best delta T it can do will be 20 degrees F. So it will be delivering 82 degree air to the indoor unit, or space. In fact, if you plot the coil process line on the psychrometric chart, it ends up at 82 db/ 64 wb. This is not a comfort condition, but if you are supplying an indoor unit, it will provide more moderate outdoor conditions.

Basically, you should plot the entire process on a psychrometric chart, and see if it works for your application. Also, discuss the implications with your rep. In my book, which is available for free download, I have a chapter on psychrometrics which would be applicable to this case. You may download my book for free at
www.nettally.com/doughert (http://www.nettally.com/doughert). The title is HVAC Design Manual – A Mechanical Designer’s Guide to Design of Small Commercial and Institutional HVAC Systems