PDA

View Full Version : Condenser not Heating

johanine1
07-04-2009, 11:15 PM
I am new in the refrigeration trade, barely 1 week. I need some help on the possible causes of the problem I encountered in the freezer I was working on. 1) Evaporator is not cooling. There was no heat coming coming out of the condenser. However, Compressor is running. 2) How to isolate/make a jumper on a LP/HP pressure switch in order to know if the problem is the pressure switch and not the compressor? Many thanks.

Brian_UK
07-04-2009, 11:28 PM
Pressure switches do not do any work it is only the compressor that moves the refrigerant around.

Do you have any access ports on the pipework to enable system pressures/temperatures to be measured?

andywill
08-04-2009, 08:34 PM
Sounds pretty obvious from your description that either there is no gas in the system or the compressor is not pumping. Fit high and low side gauges to obtain pressure readings and post your findings back here, I'm sure you will find your answer. If the system has no gas in it then firstly it should not be running and secondly you have a leak(s) which you must locate and repair.

nh3wizard
08-04-2009, 09:02 PM
:eek:I dont know how to put this without sounding like an arshole; but have you any kind of training at all?:rolleyes:

jdunc2301
19-04-2009, 11:25 PM
Firstly... If the Evaporator is not getting cold and the condenser is not getting warm, no refrigeration is taking place. Very common and may well be a poor pumping compressor or SOG....(short of gas).

The Lp/Hp Switch this does not directly affect the movement of refrigerant, the live feed for the compressor or compressor contactor will be wired through the LP/HP switch, if tripped H/P or L/P compressor will not run.

If the compresor is running then your deffinately not tripped H/P, there may not be a L/P switch fitted just double check....

This would indicate a buggered compressor...not pumping!