PDA

View Full Version : new!! not an engineer just interested r290/600 blend

totalacedude
24-03-2009, 09:45 PM
hi guys

have a question....

im not an engineer but just like when i was a child im playing and learning ;)

i have an old peugeot car refigerant leaked and before it goes to the scrap yard i would like to have a play with it. (wont be driving around with hc's in, this is to to learn)

to re gas with r134a is dear and for my purpose no fun!

i have found these blow torch containers of gas
basically they are butane 65% and propane 35%

i have seen that 50% of each works well as a drop in for r134a (ie hychill) is a marketed product and basically this!

could i use the blow torch gas i can get, and would it work with the original r134a tev if not could i get it by adjusting tev, or would the blend be so way off that it wouldnt work...

could any 1 help

and if they could explain in a way id understand id appreciate it lolol

think ive figured out (not sure if im correct or not) that at 40 psi i would prob have (with my 65/35 mix) a bubble point of about 0 c is that too high?

thanks every1!

ian

Grizzly
25-03-2009, 06:23 AM
Are you mad?
You like the idea of creating a mobile BOMB.
It is also a legal requirement to be correctly trained.
Also do you have the required equipment to recover, vacuum and charge this system?
Nice idea to an enquiring engineering mind.
But in reality a big No No!
Grizzly

totalacedude
25-03-2009, 09:51 PM
thanks for the responce, lol i know its a big no no... hence the quote (i wont be driving around in it)

anyway r134a is flammable under pressure is it not? ;o/

any way yea i have the v basic tools ie diy vac pump (old fridge compressor with connectors on end)
nothing to recover anyway... leaked out moons ago!

i have aquired the manifolds and connectors of a friend who is slowing down to retire!