PDA

View Full Version : Help with student project

stewbacca6
19-03-2009, 07:27 PM
Hey everyone I am an engineering student and I wanted to try to turn a mini-fridge into a fridge/freezer where I could cool drinks to a state of a small amount of ice. So i was thinking of just a cycle between 31 degrees F and 33 degrees F, so when I pour my beer its about 10% frozen, nice and icy.
I don't know much about refrigeration but i thought it would be a fun project so I'm looking for a little guidance. I'm thinking about installing a bigger chiller, rig up some sort of temperature control and just start testing it. What do you guys think? thanks a lot!

Scramjetman
19-03-2009, 09:09 PM
Beer ( depending on alcohol content freezes at about -2.5°C )

This is not an easy exercise as refrigeration requires a careful balance between a number of elements in the system. If you just go and change one element ( ie shove in a bigger compressor) there are all sorts of penalties that appear. To maintain the balance, a larger compressor requires a larger condenser to get rid of the extra heat. A larger evaporator is need to transfer the energy to the conditioned space and so on it goes.

To have your fridge go to a lower temperature requires more refrigeration power. Proveided you have the power to hit your lowest temperature requirement, it's just a case of resetting the thermostat up for normal operation when you are not in "beer chilling" mode

stewbacca6
19-03-2009, 11:22 PM
ok forgot about alcohol's lower freezing point. What about if I got a mini-freezer and rigged up a temperature control to constantly cycle between a degree or two below freezing temp and a degree or two above.
I guess my question is how are the thermostats set up in freezers? Could someone easily rig up something to power the unit for how i am describing. Aside from having a sweet beer fridge this is also a learning process for me about this subject.

The MG Pony
20-03-2009, 03:49 AM