PDA

View Full Version : Cooler for welding application

Metallurgyman
18-02-2009, 11:02 AM
Hi everyone,

As part of my job as a research engineer, I have to come up with novel manufacturing routes and process optimisations for laser welding. One of the routes I am looking into is building a vapour change cooler to greatly reduce the temperature of the workpiece in order to obtain a large temperature gradient between the molten pool and the rest of the material, this would create ideal conditions for a particular type of metal crystal growth, but I won't go into that...

The laser power is around 2000 Watts, with nearly 100% absorption into the workpiece, and the questions I have are:

Is this safe?
What power compressor would I need to draw away that amount of heat?
What type of refridgerant to use?
Could you reccomend any sources where I could read up on refridgeration design?

Any advice you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

frank
18-02-2009, 07:54 PM
M....man

it is quite easy to build a 2kW cooling unit.

The problem I see is how do you get the cooling process into the work piece to be welded.

Just putting the work piece into a freezer at -18C prior to welding would help but I'm sure this is not practical.

have you considered how such an instant heat input generated by a welding process directly into a refrigerant liquid/gas mixture would affect system pressures?

I think a little more research needs to be done before we can recommend something useful

SteinarN
18-02-2009, 08:33 PM
I suppose the cooling is to take place simultaneously with the welding process. Could it be possible to spray a controlled amount of liquid co2 onto the workpiece? Liquid co2 has a temperature of -79C I think. Is this too cold?

Plank!
18-02-2009, 10:08 PM