PDA

View Full Version : Expansion Valves

weighman2210
05-02-2009, 05:27 PM
Hi all,

I'm a marine engineering student currently working on a refrigeration lab. After plotting cycles on p-h diagrams for various evaporator pressures it is clear that in practice the flow through the expansion valves is not isenthalpic. Aside from heat transfer through the expansion valve to the surroundings and the change in velocity of the fluid what other reasons are there for a reduction in enthalpy as the fluid passes through the expansion valve?

Thanks

rajbunny
05-02-2009, 06:02 PM
Hi weighman I been reading this site for a few weeks now and this my first attempt at assisting any one ,I hope it helps.
As you will see from your PH chart that the point at which the refrigerant enters the expansion valve can vary from right to left. On an ideal cycle the refrigerant enters at a point corresponding to saturated liq, but in reallaty if you could subcool the liquid to a greater degree than would occur normally in a system thru heat loss in the reciever and liquid line then what you will notice is that the temp liquid enters exp valve would also be lower and hence the line followed by constant enthaly would also be reduced. This over all makes the whole sytem more efficient. Hope this makes sense.

Chef
06-02-2009, 05:43 AM
The three things are change in kinetic energy, heat loss or gain and work done. You already have the heat exchanged and the kinetic energy but is there any work done in an expansion valve - probably not. There will be friction but that should manifest itself as heat.
Seems you have all the bases covered.
Chef

Tesla
06-02-2009, 06:24 AM
FLASH GAS is the term used here, in order to cool the refrigerant (after pressure drop to corrosponding saturated pressure - sometimes refeered to refrigerant quality on PH chart

Chef
06-02-2009, 07:25 AM