PDA

View Full Version : How to read lables

brian m w
04-02-2009, 12:33 PM
Hi, can any one help me with an easy solution. I have been working on domestic refrigeration for around 8 years now and have always gased them up using my manafold gauges (r134a and 600a) i have just got a new job regassing comercial machines, nothing to big just up to double doors drinks chillers, now when i get them (all diferent) i just get the unit with out the evap fans mostly, so i need to start weighting the refrigerant in but dont totaly understand the lables (no one there knows any thing about regassing so cant ask) things like 35/10 on preasure and some for weight just have 7.5 ????? now i know thats not kg and wouldnot think its pounds:eek:
The only gas i use is 134a there
And also they have nitrogen that i have never used

So any info would be greatfully appreiceated

Slatts
04-02-2009, 12:48 PM
7.5 ounces would be about 213 grams. Sounds about right for a small system.

nike123
04-02-2009, 12:50 PM
but dont totaly understand the lables (no one there knows any thing about regassing so cant ask) things like 35/10 on preasure and some for weight just have 7.5 ????? now i know thats not kg and wouldnot think its pounds:eek:

Ounces probably!
7.5=212 gr which is probably OK for that size of equipment?

35/10 is more likely 35/100 psia

Nitrogen is used for leak and pressure testing and during brazing, to stop formation of oxides inside tube which could clog capillary tube,filter-drier and help in acid formation in oil.

nike123
04-02-2009, 12:57 PM
:mad:Again double post. I am really pi ss ed with this!

Slatts
04-02-2009, 12:58 PM
Also, I'm confused by what you say about the refrigerants you use.
Commercial cases may be using R134a, R404a, R507, R22 or any number of other gasses (but not nitrogen)
If you put the wrong gas in the system you could stuff the compressor.
Also, if by regassing you mean the case is short of gas, I hope you're fixing the leak and evacuating the system?