PDA

View Full Version : possible expansion valve fault

davepik
26-01-2009, 07:42 PM
hi guys im pretty new to this.... I work with air conditioning mainly and have been asked to look at a supermarket multi system, its pretty daunting!:eek:

I have a problem with one of the freezers iceing up, all the thermistors seem fine, the only thing that i can think of is the expansion valve, its a danfoss akv 10-3, its icey straight after the valve which makes me think its faulty?? Is there any way that the valve can be adjusted or will I have to replace it?? any help much appriciated!!!

thanks
davep

Brian_UK
26-01-2009, 07:50 PM
Hi Dave and welcome to the site.

Can't help with your problem I'm afraid but someone will be along soon I expect.

In the meantime information is here regarding the valve.....

http://www.danfoss.com/United_Kingdom/BusinessAreas/Refrigeration+and+Air+Conditioning/Literature/RA_Documentation.htm?CatalogKey=RA-6110f877-1a86-416c-a538-685d2ebcbfd7-en-EN&DocumentType=All&FreeText=akv%2010

nicolacozma
26-01-2009, 08:38 PM
Hi Dave and welcome,

Try to heat up the temperature bulb of the TXV and observe if the TXV is opening (SH will decrease ).
Otherwise there is a regulating screw on the body of the TXV. Opening or closing of this screw will modify the superheat. Try this in order to check if TXV is working. Be carefull, make little changes I mean 1/4turn or 1/2 turn of the TXV and observe the changes of superheat. Take a reference for the original position of TXV.
If you will not observe any changes means the TXV is broken and you have to change it.

regards,

FEISTY
27-01-2009, 02:56 AM