PDA

View Full Version : NH3 safty

J.F.C.
17-01-2009, 09:50 PM
HI
I work as a service tecnishen.
I was wondering what safty equipment you use when draning oil or opening a walv glasses,gasmask,gloves,chemical sut or what?

P.S. sory my english spelling is not very good, i an from denmark

Oregon Jim
18-01-2009, 03:23 PM
You simply cannot be too safe when you are draining oil. Use a full-face respirator and gloves at minimum. Remember that you have the danger of splashing liquid too. Keep in mind that when you are wearing a respirator your nose cannot provide you with any information about the NH3 concentration until you have exceeded the limits of your respirator. For safety and protection against lawsuits, you should use an ammonia monitor. If some "down-winder" suddenly falls to the floor claiming you nearly killed them with NH3 vapors, you will need to say (AND KNOW FOR CERTAIN) "My monitor confirmed I was operating safely" in order to save your hide. It may also save your life.

Grizzly
18-01-2009, 07:44 PM
I like what you say and your reasons for it Jim.
But as you say when wearing a respirator. It is impossible to monitor the concentrations of Ammonia around you, whilst you are working.
For that reason over here we are always taught, have the respirator to hand.
But use a face shield instead of the respirator and keep that for a controlled shut down and exit from the work area.
To explain why..
I once had a colleague who was working on a system whilst wearing a respirator.
Whilst boxing up the pipework that he was working on, there was a release of Ammonia Vapour.
This was all around him but not obvious to him.
As he could not smell it with the respirator on!
Myself and another colleague noticed this and shouted above the running machinery.
For him to step away from the work
area before removing his respirator, which he was just about to do, having completed the task in hand!