PDA

View Full Version : new working hours regulations on the cards!!

richelli
18-12-2008, 07:46 PM
I wonder if this will come in or not. Would be no good for me I want as much overtime as possible. Any one from overseas already got these in force? I wonder you could opt out?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/7786825.stm

superswill
18-12-2008, 11:40 PM
ummm makes an interesting read,but i dont think any trade could be capped its just the nature of the beast

p_p
19-12-2008, 01:34 PM
If the ruling does come in, I wonder what the supermarket boys are gonna do, a friend of mine has to live at the job to make a decent wage.
24/7 call out every 3rd week, makes me go all cold.

PP

richelli
19-12-2008, 11:40 PM
I am a supermarket engineer! What really annoys me is that someone can take away my freedom to work when I want. I enjoy what I do and cant see how someone in Brussels can take that right away from me. I could make what some people call a decent living from just doing a flat week, but I want more than a decent living. This would just be the start if they got away with bringing this on us. What next, set sleeping times to cut down on tiredness. Seems to me the people bringing this in are getting paid far to much money for doing very little and arn't realy living in the real world.:(

richelli
02-04-2009, 11:44 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/7978531.stm

Looks like we might be in for a 68 hour week max, reading from another page I found about this.

http://www.irishnews.com/break.asp?tbrk=brk&par=brk&catid=5834&subcatid=642&storyid=405116

They cant agree on it at the moment so hopefully would stay as it is.Would suit me better if they kept their meddling hands off my pay packet thanks!

NIKK38
05-04-2009, 11:00 AM
Space are introducing a new work practice which will limit the hours an engineer can work. No details yet though.....

coolhibby1875
06-04-2009, 05:48 PM