PDA

View Full Version : Ice Bank Design/Help

kingc66l
16-12-2008, 08:29 AM
Hi how we all doin out there,

This is my first time posting thread on site and was wondering if you guys could help please.

I want to design a ice bank for the purpose of using it to precool milk through heat exchanger.

Milk load 4500 litres
Milking time 2 hrs
Milk temp 35 degrees c
precooled to 18 degrees c
Time to build ice 12 hrs

How do I go about working out how much ice to build and size of unit in kW? Any help would be appreciated.

Magoo
20-12-2008, 11:46 PM
Ice banks are fine but recovery between milkings can dictate a large compressor.
Have you concidered an air and water system, with a large storage water tank and a smallish cooling tower that chills water in tank that then is used as a pre-cooler for milk before hitting the vat. depending on location the system is very economical and effective. Then you could have a smaller glycol chiller to knock the rest of the heat out of the milk before going into refrigerated vat. Very cost effective. A bloke to call is wally on 092783300.

Dondy
24-12-2008, 01:28 AM
Hi . As Magoo suggested there is more than one way to chill your milk. We use both ice banks (for smaller volumes up to 5000 litres) and bulk chilled water or glycol (for larger volumes), cost is also part of the aplication decision but generally an icebank is cheeper. We currently make the icebanks that we use on both dairy and goat farms. If you need call Paul on 07 888 7345. Can certainly give you some ideas.

Scott22
15-11-2009, 12:51 AM
its best and easier to use an evaporative cooler along with a chilled water system to add capacity, using the evaporative cooler with the chilled water to cool the milk directly through a heat exchanger then pumping chilled water around vat... milk should be cooled from 35 to 4 degrease within 1.5 hours otherwise it spoils the milk. i can work out the kw when i have some spare time

girirath
19-01-2010, 01:42 AM
hi,