PDA

View Full Version : Sizing of units

AC&R Jersey
14-12-2008, 06:09 PM
Hi there guys. Just wondering if anyone could help me out. I have been installing Air con and refrigeration for the past 9 years and I have decided to start my own company, problem is the boss always sized up the equipment we used so could anyone please tell me the correct formula for sizing up of air conditioning units. I know all of the relevant factors to be considered but I'm not to sure of the calculations with the measurements.

Thank you.

Brian_UK
14-12-2008, 11:33 PM
There is quite a lot of free 'sizing' software out on the web, have you tried any of those or are you wishing to do it be hand.?

AC&R Jersey
15-12-2008, 03:50 PM
hi thanks for the reply. I have seen some sizing information on the net, but no down loadable software. where would i find such software.

Toosh
15-12-2008, 10:58 PM
hi thanks for the reply. I have seen some sizing information on the net, but no down loadable software. where would i find such software.

Hi Ac go to the danfoss site and download coolpack its free

Norm :D

beagle
16-12-2008, 12:00 AM
Also, don't forget you can lean on your suppliers for this kind of support, unless it's an urgent one (ie: immediate) or you need a quote together out of office hours most suppliers can turn a full quote round pretty quickly these days.

Prince Vaillant
16-12-2008, 03:21 PM
http://www.ryanairconspares.com/cooling_calculator.php

AC&R Jersey
16-12-2008, 07:02 PM
Thanks very much for all you help guys. Time to get some work now.

Greengrocer
23-12-2008, 04:56 PM
Thanks very much for all you help guys. Time to get some work now.

Knowing roughly what load to expect as a double check is also invaluable. Software is great but like all PC based stuff if you put "rubbish in you get rubbish out".

For a general office A/C 100watts/m2 = competitive selection.
130-140watts/m2 for south/west facing more densly populaated and a cover your ar** selection.;)

Contactor