PDA

View Full Version : Hi

Steve Williams
25-11-2008, 06:25 PM
Hi Everyone,

Just joined RE so thought I would be curteous and say hello.

I'm an ex Design Engineer for both AC&R systems - working primarily for the distributors in the past.

I thought I'd join here as I am now a Commercial Energy Assessor and about to become an Air Conditioning Energy Assessor. Part of the new government legislation covering the energy performance directive of buildings is the soon to be legal requirement to provide Energy Performance Certificates for AC systems above 12KW.

So, thought I'd join up and see what the industry is saying, if anything about this?

All the best

Steve

Grizzly
25-11-2008, 07:33 PM
Hi Everyone,

Just joined RE so thought I would be curteous and say hello.

I'm an ex Design Engineer for both AC&R systems - working primarily for the distributors in the past.

I thought I'd join here as I am now a Commercial Energy Assessor and about to become an Air Conditioning Energy Assessor. Part of the new government legislation covering the energy performance directive of buildings is the soon to be legal requirement to provide Energy Performance Certificates for AC systems above 12KW.

So, thought I'd join up and see what the industry is saying, if anything about this?

All the best

Steve

Personally I am not that impressed.
(that's not a dig at you by the way!)
Grizzly

Steve Williams
25-11-2008, 09:11 PM
OK, why is that exactly?

nh3wizard
25-11-2008, 09:28 PM
Being from the United States it really sounds like the UK is extremely regulated.

Grizzly
25-11-2008, 09:59 PM
OK, why is that exactly?
OK I will put it another way.
What does the certificate have to say and if there are any suggested improvements.
Are they mandatory or recommendations?
Iceman
Yes we are if you play ball.
My problem is there is an army of people who will tell me when I can't do something.
But when you ask in reply "OK I can't do it that way!
How can I do it?"
The silence is deafening!!!!