PDA

View Full Version : Help !!!!!!!!

kevinlyoung78
10-11-2008, 10:36 PM
Hi folks , this is my first post and im not a reefer engineer but only a lowly marine one so be gentle with me.
Recently we noticed that our walk in freezer room was not reaching its normal temperature (-19) and only managing to get to approx -14 and after much head scratching we decided to top up the system (R22) so now we have no bubbles in the sight glass and LP of just over 0.2 bar and HP of about 15 bar which i assume to be normal for this system.
We then changed the filter driers in the system but as there was no change in temperature between inlet and outlet prior to the change this was just clutching at straws i guess.
All the orifices have been checked and all valves checked and double checked with no problems found,
We then adjusted the TX valves ( a big no no i guess) but still no improvement was noticed so these were returned to their previous position.
So as it stands just now we are no further forward although i did notice some oil carry over in the system and the compressor is now short cycling and still not reaching the required temperature.
Also we recently opened the standby compressor and noticed some wear on the piston rings and a few scratches in the cylinder as well as some wear on the con rod bearings so im wondering if the compressor thats running now had lost some of its efficiency....
Sorry if this is all very vague but i will try provide as much information upon reply..
HELP PLS LOL

jsimon
10-11-2008, 10:42 PM
put the gauges on and front seat the suction line valve only with the system running you should pull a good vaccumn 28" if not this is a very good sign of internal wear
If this is ok then i would presume that you have a very small leak and have pulled air into the system and this has settled in the evap coil usually noticeable by a loud hissing sound from the expansion valve into the coil

Gary
10-11-2008, 11:10 PM