PDA

View Full Version : Designing a System

rvitrih
06-11-2008, 05:04 AM
Hi Friends,

I am in my last semester of a Mechanical Engineering degree and require a little help from you experts. In a major project my team and I need to design a cold storage warehouse, to store various fruits, meats, milk and eggs. The cooler units will be small, roughly 280 sqft, and there will be eight of them, four together side by side and then four on the back side by side. The required temperatures vary from -2 to 15 degrees C. for the various products. Different rooms will require a different temperature. The temperatures within these rooms will them be maintained without much variation.

My question is, would you recommend using a central system to feed these eight different rooms, or would you recommend using a individual compressor, condenser and evaporator system for each zone. If you would choose a central system could you explain it as I am not sure how a central system would operate. We also need to take contamination into decision making process.

Thanks

Richard

wambat
06-11-2008, 06:22 AM
Hi Friends,

I am in my last semester of a Mechanical Engineering degree and require a little help from you experts. In a major project my team and I need to design a cold storage warehouse, to store various fruits, meats, milk and eggs. The cooler units will be small, roughly 280 sqft, and there will be eight of them, four together side by side and then four on the back side by side. The required temperatures vary from -2 to 15 degrees C. for the various products. Different rooms will require a different temperature. The temperatures within these rooms will them be maintained without much variation.