PDA

View Full Version : Fast Freeze Switch.. ?

mcdapp
01-11-2008, 05:24 PM
Hi I Have Been Doing Domestic Refrigeration For 20 Years Now..We Had a Rep From one of The Majors. Showing Us There New Range Of Fridges and Freezers. I always Ask What Is The Fast Freeze Switch used For.. What Is The Purpose Of It.. These People Have Been Trained On these Products.. I would Like To Ask All You Guys The Same Question.. Many of The Reps and Sales People Do Not Know.. Do You Know ?

nike123
01-11-2008, 05:57 PM
It is used for initial cooling of fresh (unfrozen) goods when placed in freezer to avoid cycling of compressor caused by thermostat action (air could be cooled much faster then core of product) and to achieve faster freezing by lowering evaporation temperature to lowest possible (limited by critical charge).

expat
01-11-2008, 08:37 PM
Hi Nike, I like the answer but I'm not quite with you on the "lowering the evaporation temperature".

I thought the button just forced the comp to work longer, and I add that it is your explanation that has made me understand why, ie...the air being cold but not the core temp of the product.

Thanks for that already.

chillin out
01-11-2008, 08:56 PM
The 'fast freeze' switch will only run the comp continuously which drops the temp of the freezer and freezes the core of the product quicker.

I have only ever seen one make of appliance which goes 1 better, when the 'fast freeze' button is pressed it sets the comp running for 12 hours and also speeds up the evap fan.

Chillin:):)

Magoo
03-11-2008, 11:34 PM
It is nothing short of a marketing CON, basically bypasses the thermostat.
The owner has this weird perception that the system goes into turbo mode, not. Just rings the hell out of the compressor.
magoo

R W ALLATT
30-01-2009, 09:34 PM