PDA

View Full Version : Cool down of an ammonia export line using riser

marcodlc
31-10-2008, 09:22 PM
Which criterias have to be followed for sizing the cool-down of an ammonia export line using risers?
How can i determine number and size of risers?
The fluid is anhydrous liquid ammonia at -33°C.

Andy
01-11-2008, 06:31 PM
Which criterias have to be followed for sizing the cool-down of an ammonia export line using risers?

Hello marcodlc

what is an export line:confused:

Kind Regards Andy

Andy
01-11-2008, 06:33 PM

Hello marcodlc

please introduce yourself and tell us a little about what you do.

Kind Regards

marcodlc
03-11-2008, 10:54 PM
Hello marcodlc

what is an export line:confused:

Kind Regards Andy

Hi Andy.
I'm Marco and I'm a process engineer.

The export line i'm talking about is to transfer liquid Ammonia from a storage tank to a Ship Loading System.
The ammonia export line cooling-down is exceeded by feeding liquid ammonia on the export line and recovering the discharged vapour through the high point of line installed for the scope with a saw-tooth altimetric profile.
When the liquid ammonia is feed to the saw-tooth shaped line, the vapours are collected into the high points of line: the liquid level will control & open a valve located on top of riser and vapour will flow through the return line to the ammonia storage tank. When liquid will be present at the high points, the valve will automatically close. Attached you can find a very simplified sketch of the system.

US Iceman
03-11-2008, 11:42 PM
Hi Marco.

Thanks for the information. This appears to be an atmospheric storage system for ammonia so, your original question now makes a lot of sense.

The risers you speak of are gas vent lines. And as you are using the LIC level controls for what we would call low-side float devices to vent the vapor created from flashing off.

My assumption for this is: